EU justice ministers focus on combating antisemitism and hate speech

The Director of the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA), Michael O’Flaherty exchanged views with justice ministers from across the EU on combating antisemitism and hate speech.

O’ Flaherty presented findings from FRA’s annual overview of antisemitic incidents recorded in the EU.

The exchange focused on what steps ministers can take to enhance criminal justice responses to antisemitism, with a particular focus on what could be done to encourage reporting and improve recording of hate crime.

During the exchange, Didier Reynders, EU Justice Commissioner, and ministers highlighted the importance of the agency’s data and evidence in supporting the fight against antisemitism.


Subscribe to EJC newsletter

Get EJC's bi-weekly newsletter, including the latest statements and news from the European Jewish communities, direct to your inbox.

European Jewish Congress will use the information you provide on this form to contact you. We will treat your information with respect and will not share it with others. By clicking Subscribe, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.


EJC President Kantor applauds overdue decision by Facebook to ban Holocaust denial

EJC President Dr. Moshe Kantor has welcomed the decision by Facebook to ban Holocaust denial or distortion, and to better inform the public about the Holocaust.

EJC President Kantor welcomes the branding of Golden Dawn as a criminal organization

EJC President Dr. Moshe Kantor has welcomed the landmark decision by a Greek court to brand the neo-Nazi party Golden Dawn a criminal organization and declared that senior members of the party were guilty of running a criminal organization.

EJC condemns attack on Hamburg synagogue

The European Jewish Congress strongly condemns an antisemitic attack that wounded one outside a synagogue in Hamburg.

EJC calls on Scandinavian countries to follow Finland’s example and ban the antisemitic Nordic Resistance Movement

The EJC calls on the governments of Denmark, Iceland, Norway and Sweden to follow the recent example of Finland and ban the Neo-Nazi Nordic Resistance Movement.