European Jewry elects a new President

On Sunday, June 26th, the General Assembly of the European Jewish Congress (EJC) convened in Paris with the participation of 130 delegates, representing 36 Jewish communities in Europe. The French candidate Pierre Besnainou was elected by the General Assembly as President of the EJC for a mandate of two years renewable.

Mr. Besnainou ran for the presidency against Cobi Bentoff, the outgoing EJC president.

In addition, the General Assembly decided on the creation of a Board of Governors which will be responsible for all educational and cultural programs as well as fundraising. Moshe Kantor will be its first Chairman.

In conclusion, the Assembly elected the 17 members of the Executive, and renewed Serge Cwajgenbaum’s position as Secretary General. In keeping with the tradition of rotation of small communities within the Executive, Switzerland, Poland and Belarussia yielded their places to Turkey, Spain and Romania.


Subscribe to EJC newsletter

Get EJC's bi-weekly newsletter, including the latest statements and news from the European Jewish communities, direct to your inbox.

European Jewish Congress will use the information you provide on this form to contact you. We will treat your information with respect and will not share it with others. By clicking Subscribe, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.


European Jewish Congress expresses solidarity with Israel and condemns Iranian attack on Jewish State

We urge the European Union and its member states to totally isolate Iran economically and politically from the international family of nations by strongly enforcing and extending sanctions against the Islamic Republic.